Young Investigator Award

The IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award was established to honor an individual who has made outstanding technical contributions to photonics (broadly defined) prior to his or her 35th birthday. Nominees must be under 35 years of age on Sept. 30th of the year in which the nomination is made. Funding for this award is sponsored by the IEEE Photonics Society. The award consists of a certificate of recognition and an honorarium of $2000. The presentation is made at either OFC or CLEO, to be selected by the recipient.

2017 Honoree


Hannah Joyce

For significant contributions to nanowire optoelectronics and terahertz spectroscopy.




Dr Hannah Joyce received her PhD in 2010 from the Australian National University, where she studied the growth and optoelectronic properties of III–V semiconductor nanowires. Following her PhD, Hannah joined the Department of Physics at the University of Oxford as a postdoctoral researcher. At Oxford, she investigated the electrical properties of low-dimensional nanomaterials (including semiconductor nanowires, graphene and monolayer transition metal dichalcogenides) using ultrafast spectroscopic techniques such as terahertz conductivity spectroscopy, and she worked on developing these nanomaterials for applications in terahertz photonics. In September 2013, Hannah was appointed as a University Lecturer in the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge. Her research group in Cambridge focuses on the development of novel nanomaterials for applications in photonics. Hannah’s research interests include the growth of novel low-dimensional semiconductor materials via metalorganic chemical vapour deposition, the development of innovative spectroscopic techniques for contact-free characterisation of nanomaterials, and the development of new nanomaterial-based devices such as photovoltaics, photodetectors and terahertz photonic modulators.

Hannah is the recipient of an IEEE Lasers & Electro-Optics Society Graduate Student Fellowship, a Research Fellowship from the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851, the 2014 Harold M. Manasevit Young Investigator Award and a 2016 ERC Starting Grant from the European Research Council.

: Sept 30

   Nominate a colleague today!

Nomination Requirements

Submit Nomination