Aron Kressel Award Winners

YearAward WinnerCitation
2021 Hui Cao For groundbreaking contributions to experimental studies on non-conventional lasers, and for pioneering their applications in biomedical imaging, projection and cryptography.
2020 Sanjay Krishna For the first demonstration of single color and dual color nBn superlattice detectors and focal plane arrays.
2019 Luke J. Mawst For contributions to novel materials growth, fabrication and device design of semiconductor diode lasers.
2018 Rui Q. Yang For invention of the mid-infrared interband cascade laser, and its advancement along with related devices for applications.
2017 Kei-May Lau For exceptional contributions to hetero-epitaxy of highly mismatched III-V photonics devices by MOCVD.
2016 Martin D. Dawson For broad and sustained contributions to semiconductor opto-electronic engineering, including optically-pumped semiconductor lasers, diamond photonic and gallium-nitride microdevices.
2015 Silvano Donati For seminal contributions to self-mixing interferometry.
Mitsuru Sugawara
Keizo Takemasa
Kenichi Nishi
"For pioneering contributions to the development of temperature-insensitive quantum dot lasers, and their commercialization and mass-production for optical communication systems."
2013 Sarath Gunapala For pioneering contributions to the development of quantum structures based infrared detectors and imaging focal plane arrays.
2012 Bahram Jalali "For contributions to the science and technology of silicon photonics.”
2011 Ian White For contributions in the field of III-V photonic devices for data-communication transmission and routing applications.
Steven P. DenBaars
James S. Speck
For pioneering work in the development of high-efficiency nonpolar and semipolar nitride-based materials and devices for solid state lighting.
Larry Coldren
Jack Jewell
For original contributions enabling low threshold, manufacturable VCSELs
2008 Henryk Temkin For outstanding contributions and leadership in advancing opto-electronic materials and devices spanning from the infrared to the ultraviolet.
2007 Rodney S. Tucker For contributions to the modeling and analysis and applications of high-speed semiconductor lasers.
Charles Joyner
Radhakrishnan Nagarajan
Richard Schneider
In recognition of breakthrough work in the development and manufacturing of Large Scale Photonic Integrated Circuit.
2005 J. Gary Eden For sustained contributions to the development of ultraviolet coherent and incoherent sources, and to excimer lasers and microplasma devices.
Eberhard Latta
Christoph Harder
Volker Graf
For pioneering contributions to high-reliability, high-power telecommunications pump lasers.
2003 Takao Kaneda For contributions to the development and commercialization of avalanche photodiodes for optical communication systems.
2002 J. Jim Hsieh For pioneering development of 1300nm GaInAsP diode lasers for fiber optic communications application and entrepreneurial leadership.
2001 Wim Nijman For pioneering work in GaAs crystal growth for compact disc lasers and founding the Philips semiconductor laser industry.
2000 Gregory Olsen For contributions to the development and commercialization of InGaAs detectors for communications and sensing applications.