Engineering Achievement Award

The IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award is given to recognize an exceptional engineering contribution which has had a significant impact on the development of laser or electro-optic technology or the commercial application of technology within the past 10 years. It may be given to an individual or to a group for a single contribution of significant work in the field.  The Award consists of an honorarium of $2000 and a medal. The presentation is made at the IEEE Photonics Conference.

Please note that no candidate shall have previously received a major IEEE award for the same work.  Previous winners of a Photonics Society Career Award (Aron Kressel, Engineering Achievement, Quantum Electronics, William Streifer Scientific Achievement) are not eligible candidates for consideration of the same work. Candidates need not be members of the IEEE or the Photonics Society. 

2019 Honorees

Holger Hawkins

Holger Schmidt and Aaron Hawkins

For the invention and development of optofluidic waveguides and their applications, in particular commercialization for biomedical diagnostics.


Holger Schmidt received the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from UC Santa Barbara and served as a Postdoctoral Fellow at M.I.T. He is the Narinder Kapany Chair of Optoelectronics and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at UC Santa Cruz. He also serves as the Associate Dean for Research in the Baskin School of Engineering. His research covers a broad range in photonics and integrated optics, including optofluidic devices, atom photonics, nano-magneto-optics and spintronic devices. He has authored more than 400 publications, several book chapters, and co-edited the CRC Handbook of Optofluidics. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Optical Society of America, and received an NSF Career Award and a Keck Futures Nanotechnology Award. 

Aaron R. Hawkins received a B.S. degree from Caltech and a Ph.D. degree from the University of California, Santa Barbara. He was a Co-founder of Terabit Technology and an engineer at CIENA and Intel. He is currently a Professor with the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, Brigham Young University, doing research in optofluidics, integrated optics, and MEMs. He has authored or coauthored over 400 technical publications and is a Fellow of the IEEE and the OSA. He has served as the Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics and currently serves as the IEEE Photonic Society’s VP of Publications.





April 5th

Nominate a colleague today!

Nomination period: Feb 1 - April 5

Nomination Requirements

Submit Nomination