IEEE Photonics Award

IEEE Photonics Award

The IEEE Photonics Award, sponsored by the IEEE Photonics Society, is presented for outstanding achievements in photonics. It may be presented to an individual or a team of not more than three.

Recipient selection is administered by the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.


2021 Honoree  

JackJewell Portrait


For seminal and sustained contributions to the development and commercialization of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VSCEL).

Jack Jewell  


More information

View Previous Award Winners

Submission Deadline: Jan 31

   Nominate a colleague today!

Submit Nomination