John Tyndall Award Winners

YearAward WinnerCitation
2022 Meint Smit For leadership in building a photonic integration ecosystem, and pioneering contributions to key photonic devices including the arrayed waveguide grating.
2021 Michal Lipson In recognition of her fundamental and technological advances in integrated photonic devices.
2020 Roel Baets For seminal research in silicon photonics and for driving the foundry model in this field.
2019 Kim Roberts For pioneering contributions to the development of practical coherent communication systems.
2018 Peter J. Winzer For contributions to understanding and advancing the capacity of coherent optical communication systems including advanced modulation formats and spatial multiplexing.
2017 E.M. Dianov For pioneering leadership in optical fiber development and outstanding contributions to nonlinear fiber optics and optical fiber amplifiers.
2016 Alan H. Gnauck For sustained pioneering research contributions that drove commercialization of high-speed, high capacity lightwave communication systems.
2015 Paul Daniel Dapkus For pioneering and sustained contributions to the development of metal organic chemical vapor deposition and high performance quantum well semiconductor lasers."
2014 Kazuro Kikuchi For pioneering contributions to the fundamental understanding of coherent detection techniques.
2013 James J. Coleman For contributions to semiconductor lasers and photonic materials, processing and device designs, including high reliability strained-layer lasers.
2012 John Bowers For pioneering research in hybrid-silicon lasers and photonic integrated circuits.
2011 David F. Welch For seminal contributions to photonic ICs and semiconductor lasers developed in fiber optic communication systems around the world.
2010 C. Randy Giles For seminal contributions to advanced lightwave communications networks including erbium-doped fiber amplifiers, fiber Bragg grating-based subsystems, amd MEMS crossconnects.
2009 Joe C. Campbell For seminal contributions to the understanding,design and telecommunication systems implementation of avalanche photodiodes
2008 Robert W. Tkach For pioneering breakthroughs in high-capacity transmission systems and networks, including the invention of NZDF (non-zero dispersion fiber) and dispersion management of optical fiber nonlinearities.
2007 Emmanuel Desurvire For pioneering contributions to the physical and theoretical understanding of Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers and to their early development.
2006 Donald Scifres For seminal contributions to semiconductor laser diode technology that power the optical fiber networks and as an entrepreneur in creating one of the premier companies that bring to practice the semiconductor diode laser technology to serve the fiber optics industry.
2005 Roger H. Stolen For fundamental contributions to the understanding of optical fiber nonlinearities, including the identification and understanding of simulated Raman scattering in fibers.
2004 Larry Coldren For contributions to semiconductor laser diode technology, including widely tunable DBR lasers and vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers.
2003 Andrew Chraplyvy For pioneering research on optical fiber nonlinearities and their dispersion management, and leading wavelength-division-multiplexed fiber transmission systems beyond Terabit/second capacities.
2002 Neal Bergano For outstanding technical contributions to and technical leadership in the advancement of global undersea fiber optic communication systems.
2001 Tatsuo Izawa For contributions to vapor-phase axial deposition for optical-fiber fabrication and pioneer work of silica-based lightwave circuits.
2000 Stewart Personick For pioneering research in optical receiver design, system engineering, and optical time domain reflectometry, and for leadership in education and the promotion of fiber optics.
1999 John MacChesney For the invention and development of the MCVD process which is one of the major techniques for the manufacture of low loss optical fibers and for high purity overcladding tubes using sol-gel techniques.
1998 Kenichi Iga For pioneering contributions in the development of surface emitting lasers and planar microlens arrays for parallel optoelectronics.
1997 Ivan Kaminow For contributions to lightwave device technology involving high-speed modulation, integrated optics, semiconductor lasers, polarization effects in fiber, and WDM components, and to optical FDM networks.
1996 Kenneth Hill For discovery of photosensitivity in optical fibers and its application to Bragg gratings used in device applications in optical communications and sensor systems.
1995 Tingye Li For sustained advances in high-capacity optical fiber communication systems created by his pioneering research, leadership, and personal contributions over more than two decades.
1994 Elias Snitzer For pioneering contributions to optical propagation in fiber and to rare-earth-doped lasers and amplifiers.
1993 Yasuharu Suematsu For contributions to wide-band optical fiber communication through his proposed dynamic single-mode lasers and semiconductor-based integrated optics.
1992 Dr. Donald B. Keck For the invention and development of methods for manufacture and measurement of devices for optical communication, including low attenuation fibers
1991 David N. Payne For outstanding contributions to the design, measurement and fabrication of optical fibers and active fiber devices.
1990 Thomas Giallorenzi For significant technical, management, and professional contributions to the development and applications of fiber optics and optical fiber sensor technology.
1989 Stewart Miller For his foresight, dedication, technical contributions and pioneering leadership in building the broad foundations for today's fiber-optic telecommunications systems.
1988 Michael Barnoski In recognition of his invention of devices and instruments fundamental to fiber optic technology, and the leadership that he has exerted both in professional societies and in industry in advancing optical communication technology.
1987 Robert Maurer In recognition of his contributions to the discovery and understanding of materials and techniques for the fabrication of glass fiber waveguides for optical communication.