Quantum Electronics Award Winners

YearAward WinnerCitation
2021 Miles Padgett For pioneering research on the fundamentals and applications of optical angular momentum.
2020 Herbert Winful For pioneering the field of nonlinear optical periodic structures and for foundational contributions to nonlinear dynamics of semiconductor laser arrays.
2019 Luigi A. Lugiato For outstanding contribuitions to quantum electronics, especially the formulation of the Lugiato-Lefever equation and its impact on microresonator frequency combs.
2018 James Roy Taylor For seminal contributions to development of ultrashort pulse lasers and applications to nonlinear fiber optics allowing temporal and spectral versatility.
2017 Jia-Ming Liu For pioneering and lasting contributions to ultrafast laser-matter interactions and nonlinear dynamics of lasers.
2016 David Villeneuve For seminal contributions to the development of attosecond science and its application to atomic and molecular spectroscopy.
2015 Richard M .Osgood For seminal contributions to novel laser systems, laser-surface photochemistry, and integrated linear and nonlinear Si waveguides.
2014 Robert W. Boyd
For contributions to nonlinear optics, including room temperature slow light and the nonlinear optics of composite materials.
2013 Weng Chow For contributions to semiconductor-laser theory, in particular the implementation and verification of many-body effects
2012 Govind P. Agrawal For sustained contributions to fiber-optic telecommunication technology through innovative research and authorship of numerous widely-respected books in the field.
2011 Andrew M. Weiner For seminal contributions to ultrafast optical signal processing, including development of ultrashort pulse arbitrary waveform generation technology and its applications
2010 Masataka Nakazawa
For seminal contribution and leadership in the advancement of optical communications and fiber lasers through the invention of the compact erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA.
2009 Atac Imamoglu For field opening contributions to electromagnetically induced transparency and to quantum dot based information processing.
Jeffrey H. Shapiro
Horace P. Yuen
For pioneering and seminal contributions to the theory of the generation, detection, and applications of novel states of light.
2007 Sajeev John For the invention and development of light-trapping crystals and the elucidation of their properties and applications.
2006 Ferenc Krausz For outstanding contributions to the field of ultrafast science in particular to the generation of single attosecond pulses
2005 Paul Corkum For pioneering contributions to the development of femtosecond and attosecond science.
2004 Gerard Mourou For pioneering contributions to ultrafast optics including optical sampling and intense fs pulses
2003 Marlan O. Scully For field-opening contributions to the foundation of laser physics.
2002 Shuji Nakamura For pioneering contributions to blue, green, and white light emitting diodes and blue semiconductor lasers.
2001 Linn Mollenauer For seminal contributions to the generation, understanding, and system application of optical solitons.
2000 Yoshihisa Yamamoto For the invention and first demonstration of the technique for producing amplitude squeezed light semiconductors.


Akira Hasegawa For his contributions to the derivation of the master equation for signal transmission in fibers, discovery of optical solitons and the theoretical developments for application of solitons to all optical high speed communication systems.
1998 Rudolf F. Kazarinov For his seminal and wide-ranging theoretical contributions to the semiconductor laser field including the double-heterostructure laser, the distributed-feedback laser and intersubband lasers.
1997 Erich P. Ippen For pioneering work in ultrafast optics, optical diagnostics and novel methods of mode- locking.
1996 Robert L. Byer For pioneering inventions and contributions to solid-state lasers, optical parametric oscillators, and nonlinear optics.
1995 Daniel S. Chemla For his seminal contributions to the field of nonlinear optics and the understanding of electronic excitations in quantum confined systems.
1994 Stephen E. Harris For pioneering contributions to quantum electronics including the invention of the FM laser, methods of UV and X-ray generation and lasing without inversion.
1993 Frederick Leonberger For his pioneering contributions to the development of a variety of new photonic devices and their use in important signal processing functions.
Joseph E. Geusic
LeGrande Van Uitert
For their invention & development of the Neodymium:YAG laser.
1991 Herwig Kogelnik For fundamental contributions and technical leadership in the fields of quantum electronics and optical communications.
1990 David H. Auston For pioneering and fundamental contributions to the field of picosecond optoelectronics and ultrafast optical phenomena.
1989 Anthony Siegman For his numerous contributions to the field of quantum electronics, including the invention of the unstable optical resonator and for contributions to the theory of mode-locked lasers.
1988 William Bridges For his contributions to the discovery of the Argon, Krypton, and Xenon ion lasers.
1987 Arthur Ashkin For his seminal experimental and theoretical work which initiated worldwide study of laser radiation pressure and for his continuing exceptional contributions to the development of this field.
1986 Peter Smith For pioneering contributions to waveguide gas lasers, stabilized lasers, bistable optical devices and to the understanding of fundamental limits on nonlinear optical switching devices.
1985 Robert Hellwarth For fundamental contributions to lasers, Raman scattering and non-linear optical processes.
1984 Hermann Haus For his contributions to optical waveguide devices and laser modelocking.
1983 Ivan Kaminow For his contributions to electro-optics, waveguide devices, optical fibers, and semiconductor lasers.
1982 Yasuharu Suematsu For technical contributions and teaching in the field of optical communications, including semiconductor lasers, fibers, and integrated optics.
1981 Dietrich Marcuse For his theoretical contributions which provide fundamental understanding for practical designs of optical dielectric waveguides.
1980 Amnon Yariv In recognition of his pioneering contributions to lasers and electrooptics.
1979 Elias Snitzer For the invention and operation of the "first" glass laser, fiber-optics, and contributions to optical fibers.
1978 A. Gardner Fox In recognition of outstanding contributions to the theory and application of ferrite, nonreciprocal, and parametric devices and laser resonator modes and devices.