William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award

The IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award is given to recognize an exceptional single scientific contribution which has had a significant impact in the field of lasers and electro-optics in the past 10 years. It may be given to an individual or to a group for a single contribution of significant work in the field. The Award is endowed by Xerox Corp and Spectra Diode Labs. The Award consists of an honorarium of $2,500 and a medal. The presentation is made at the IEEE Photonics Conference.

Please note that no candidate shall have previously received a major IEEE award for the same work.  Previous winners of a Photonics Society Career Award (Aron Kressel, Engineering Achievement, Quantum Electronics, William Streifer Scientific Achievement) are not eligible candidates for consideration of the same work. Candidates need not be members of the IEEE or the Photonics Society. 

2021 Honoree



Paras N. Prasad

For pioneering contributions in multiphoton processes in molecular materials and developing technologies that advance biophotonics for multiphoton imaging and therapy.



Paras N. Prasad currently holds the unique multidisciplinary position of SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Physics, Electrical Engineering, and Medicine (four departments spanning three schools). He is the Samuel P. Capen Chair of Chemistry and the Executive Director of the multidisciplinary Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics, which he founded in 1999. His pioneering contributions in interdisciplinary research at the interface of photonics, nanotechnology, and biomedicine have broadly impacted healthcare, energy, and optical technologies.

Scientific American named him among the world’s top 50 science and technology leaders. He has authored more than 800 scientific papers; four field-defining monographs, widely used in teaching worldwide, in nonlinear optics, biophotonics, nanophotonics, and nanomedicine; eight edited books; and numerous patents. He introduced and advanced new frontiers of organic nonlinear optics, nanophotonics, biophotonics and nanomedicine.

His many awards for research excellence include 2021 IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award ; IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology; the Peter Debye Award, Morley Medal and Schoellkopf Medal from the American Chemical Society; Guggenheim Fellowship; Sloan Fellowship; Western New York Health Care Industries Technology/Discovery Award; SUNY Excellence in the Pursuit of Knowledge award; UB’s first Innovation Impact award; UB President’s Medal; SPIE’s highest honor of Gold medal; Optical Society Michael Feld Biophotonics award.

He is an elected foreign fellow of the National Academy of Sciences , India and a fellow of the National Academy of inventors . He is a fellow of the APS, Optica, SPIE, and IEEE and was listed among Thompson Reuters “Highly Cited Researchers” for 2014 &2016. He has Honorary Doctorates from KTH in Sweden, the Aix-Marseille University in France, MEPhI in Russia, and the Federal University of Pernambuco in Brazil. Globally, his technologies have produced nine 9spin-off companies, including publicly-traded Nanobiotix, now in advanced clinical trials for cancer therapy.

April 5th

Nominate a colleague today!

Nomination period: Feb 1 - April 5

Nomination Requirements

Submit Nomination