Conference Council

It is the responsibility of the Conference Council to regularly review the Society's meetings portfolio with the aim of identifying and resolving current issues and challenges as well as to make suggestions for new meetings when appropriate. The Conference Council is also responsible for reviewing and approving requests for technical co-sponsorship, Chairs and Representatives for selected conferences, and location and venue selections for the IEEE Photonics Conference.

The Vice President of Conferences chairs the Council and appoints members as necessary. The voting membership of the Council includes the Chair, Vice President Technical Affairs, Chair of the Topical Meeting, and three members appointed by the Vice President (Conferences) selected to reflect the breadth of technical interests of the Society.

Conference Council Chair

Perry Shum portrait
Perry Shum
Conference Council Chair
Nanyang Technological University

Conference Council Member

Nikola  Alic  portrait
Nikola Alic
Conference Council Member
University of California San Diego
Neil Broderick portrait
Neil Broderick
Conference Council Member
University of Auckland
René-Jean Essiambre portrait
René-Jean Essiambre
Conference Council Member
Nicolas  Fontaine portrait
Nicolas Fontaine
Conference Council Member
Elected Board Member
Nokia Bell Labs
Christina Lim portrait
Christina Lim
Conference Council Member
University of Melbourne
Carmen Menoni portrait
Carmen Menoni
Conference Council Member
Colorado State University
Leslie Ann Rusch portrait
Leslie Ann Rusch
Conference Council Member
Université Laval
Lei Su portrait
Lei Su
Conference Council Member
Queen Mary University of London
Qizhen Sun portrait
Qizhen Sun
Conference Council Member
Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Shinji Yamashita portrait
Shinji Yamashita
Conference Council Member
The University of Tokyo

Conference Council Staff Support

Executive Director
Doug Razzano