Membership Council

The IEEE Photonics Society’s Membership Council was formed to ensure that the interests of the members are addressed, to oversee the direction of the Society’s chapters and to initiate programs that add value to the membership and photonics community at large. The Membership Council also leads the Society's membership recruitment and retention strategies. 

The Membership Council is chaired by the IEEE Photonics Society’s Vice President of Membership and consists of the President, the President‐Elect, Associate Vice Presidents segmented by the Society’s strategic areas of focus, the Newsletter Editor and the four Board of Governors Members serving the second year of their elected terms. A complete roster is below. 

Strategic Objectives 

  • Evaluate the Society's benefits, engagement efforts and membership products regularly;
  • Enhance the coordination between the Society’s activities at the local chapter and international levels; 
  • Provide a long-term membership career paths to guide members at they transition from student to member to leader; 
  • Expand the diversity of the photonics community by increasing the participation of Women in Photonics, Young Professionals, marginalized groups and members from developing nations; 
  • Increase mentorship, networking and micro-volunteering opportunities for all photonics community sectors;  
  • Educate public and government leaders on the capabilities and benefits of photonic technology. 

Strategic Committees 

 The Membership Council has three Strategic Committees that report to it within the Society's governance structure:

Fatima Garcia-Gunning portrait
Fatima Garcia-Gunning
VP Membership Term: 2020 - 2022
Tyndall National Institute

AVP Chapter RelationsClick for role description

Naresh Chand portrait
Naresh Chand
AVP Chapter Relations Term: 2020 - 2022
Retired / IEEE Fellow

AVP Member DevelopmentClick for role description

Demetris  Geddis portrait
Demetris Geddis
AVP Member Development Term: 2021 - 2023
Hampton University

AVP Student MembershipClick for role description

Yesenia  Rivera portrait
Yesenia Rivera
AVP Student Membership Term: 2020 - 2022
Puerto Rico Photonics Institute

AVP CommunicationsClick for role description

Senta Jantzen portrait
Senta Jantzen
AVP Communications Term: 2021 - 2023

Newsletter Editor-in-Chief Click for role description

Dominic  Siriani  portrait
Dominic Siriani
Newsletter Editor-in-Chief Term: 2021 - 2023
Cisco Systems, Inc.

2nd Year Elected Board MembersClick for role description

Akihiko  Kasukawa  portrait
Akihiko Kasukawa
2nd Year Elected Board Members Term: 2021 - 2021
Furukawa Electric Co. Japan.
Milan  Mashanovitch portrait
Milan Mashanovitch
2nd Year Elected Board Members Term: 2021 - 2021
Freedom Photonics
Leif  Oxenlowe portrait
Leif Oxenlowe
2nd Year Elected Board Members Term: 2021 - 2021
Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Michelle Sander portrait
Michelle Sander
2nd Year Elected Board Members Term: 2021 - 2021
Boston University

Staff Support

Community Outreach & Development Manager
Lauren Mecum-Smith