Editorial Board

Photonics Journal Editor-in-Chief

Niloy Dutta portrait
Niloy Dutta
Photonics Journal Editor-in-Chief
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269 USA
Niloy K. Dutta received his MS and PhD in Physics from Cornell University in 1976 and 1978 respectively. He received his BSc (Honours) and MSc in Physics from St. Stephen’s College, New Delhi in 1972 and 1974 respectively. Since 1997 he has been a Professor of Physics at the University of Connecticut. Prior to that from 1990 to 1997 he was Head of Optoelectronic Device Research Department at Bell Laboratories at Murray Hill, NJ. 
In 1976 he conducted the first experiments on intracavity absorption spectroscopy using a tunable infrared laser. In 1978 he reported the first observation of resonant photoexcited charge transfer. 
He joined Bell Laboratories in 1979 where he has made numerous contributions to the research and development of semiconductor lasers for lightwave transmission systems. His many significant research accomplishments include explanation of the high temperature performance of long wavelength semiconductor lasers, first InGaAsP quantum well laser, first tunable Bragg reflector laser, first 10 Gb/s lightwave transmission field experiment, first coherent transmission field experiment, and two dimensional optical interconnection systems. 
He joined the University of Connecticut in 1997 as Professor of Physics. His current research programs include high speed optical transmission, optical networks, photonic logic devices and circuits, fiber lasers and optical coherence tomography. 
He has published over 360 papers and 20 review chapters on semiconductor lasers, optical amplifiers, coherent transmission systems, optoelectronic integration, device physics and lightwave telecommunication system experiments. He has co-authored books on "Long Wavelength Semiconductor Lasers "(1986), “Semiconductor Lasers” (1992), “Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers” (2006), and, “Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers” 2nd. edition (2013) . He has edited and authored chapters in: “ Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Lasers” (2000), “ WDM Technologies – Active Optical Components” (2003),“WDM Technologies – Passive Optical Components” (2004)and, “WDM Technologies – Optical Networks” (2005). 
He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEEE), the Optical Society of America and the International Society of Optical Engineers (SPIE). He received the LEOS Distinguished Lecturer Award in 1995. He is a Fellow of Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering.
Show More

Senior Editors

Wallace Choy, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Gong-Ru Lin, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Robert Magnusson, University of Texas Arlington, USA

Luke Mawst, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Shin-Tson Wu, University of Central Florida, USA

Associate Editors

Arti Agrawal, City University, UK

James Stewart Aitchison, University of Totonto, Canada

Liam P. Barry, Dublin City University, Ireland

Naresh Chand, Futurewei Technologies, Huawei R&D, USA

Minghua Chen,Tsinghua University, China

Nan Chi, Fudan University, China

Antonio d'Alessandro, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Mihaela Dinu, LGS Innovations,  USA

Dror Fixler, Bar Ilan University, Israel

Nicolas Fontaine, Nokia Bell Laboratories, USA

Qiaoqiang Gan, University of Buffalo, USA

Florencio Hernandez, University of Central Florida, USA

Sheng-Lung Huang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

M. Saif Islam, University of California - USA

Zhensheng Jia, Cable Television Laboratories, USA

Robert Killey, University College London, London

Yinchieh Lai, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Jiun-Haw Lee, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Jung-Kun Lee, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Xiaofeng Li, Soochow University, China

Zhaohui Li, Sun Yat-Sen University, China

Hai Han Lu, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan

Boon Ooi, King Abdullah University of Science & Technology, Saudi Arabia

Daqing Piao, Oklahoma State University, USA

B.M.A. Rahman, City University London, London

Ioannis Roudas, Montana State University - Bozeman, USA

Mehrdad Shokooh-Saremi, Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, Iran

Chester Shu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Luca Vincetti, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy

Lei Wei, Southeast University, China

Shumin Xiao, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Jianjun Yu, ZTE (TX) Inc., USA

Jing Zhang, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA

John X. Zhang, Concordia University, Canada

Xinliang Zhang, Huazhong University of Science & Technology, China

Chao Zhou, Washington University in Saint Louis, USA

Tao Zhu, Chongqing University, China

Weiren Zhu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

About this Journal

Impact Factor: 2.729

Time to Publication:  42 days

Submit your paper

View on IEEE Xplore